Several passengers on the Norwegian Gem have contacted me, saying that health officials in St. Maartan have reportedly prohibited the NCL cruise ship from porting there.

The passengers are saying that there is a gastrointestinal outbreak reported on the Gem, thought to be norovirus.

I have not previously heard there was any type of outbreak on the ship. Anyone have information?

Photo credit: Corgi5623 at English Wikipedia, CC BY-SA 3.0 

March 18, 2016 Update: We are receiving some interesting comments on our Facebook page, including one suggesting that the source of the outbreak may be contaminated port water – rather than the cruise lines’ usual excuse of cruise passengers blamed for not washing their hands.

March 21, 2016 Update: The Gem next called on Tortola. Many local citizens are not happy. VI allows cruise ship to dock despite alleged Norovirus infection outbreak

 

  

  • Kevin Healy

    I was on the Gem March 2-12 the captain made mention of flu like symptoms on the previous cruise. For the first few days of sailing NCL staff served all food. My wife came down with bowel issues three days into the trip. And I have been experiencing diarrhea all week since I have been back. Needless to say I had no issues when I borded the ship so I think I caught some type of Bug. We did not eat any food at shore at any of the ports. Brought bottled water with us from home.

  • Iris

    I was on the Norwegian Gem 3-12 thru 3-22. One person was taken from the poolside by security because of symptoms. We were not able to port in St. Maarten they turned us away. But, what I don’t understand was they got the ok for us to enter Tortola as soon as we left St.Maarten. They served all the foods to the point you couldn’t even touch the ketchup or Mustard. I was not pleased with the cruise. I was so excited to see St.Maarten and that didn’t happen. The credit we received for a lost day was $9.30. Like really that does not compare to the memories we could have made.

  • Vivianna

    Hello I was on the Norwegian gem 3-12-2016 it is crazy how the boat gets a virus we are not told anything until Thursday evening the captain stated some people were served contaminated water and we had a few sick people but Thursday morning when we woke up they were serving us I felt something was strange I asked what was going on no one wanted to say nothing we ported to st Thomas and when we got back around 6 or 7 the captain said someone drank some water in Puerto Rico got sick and brought the virus mean while I read that they had flu like symptoms the cruise before we never made to st marteen and was only returned 9.36 per person it was the worst cruise ever they didn’t even tell anyone how to avoid spreading the virus till Saturday and this all started wensday March 16 our first letter given of how not to spread the virus was given on March 19 2016

  • Jill Schager

    I was on the ncl gem from 3/12 to 3/22. Our first stop Puerto Rico. Went to the beach for approximately 2 hrs. I didn’t drink any of P/R water. All I had was my own water from the ship. Starting feeling very sick, we were back on the by 1:30 pm in our stateroom. I started to vomit so bad, thank god I was back on the ship. By 6pm I went to the ships doctor to relieve my sever pain. He gave me a shot in the rear and Loperamide and at that point was told I had to be in isolation in my room for 24 hours. Our room had a balcony so at least I got some fresh air but not happy missing St. Thomas. By that night 24 hrs later I spoke to the nurse at the med center and he lifted my isolation. I thought we could enjoy this trip to visit our next port St. Maarten. Now all the guests are not allowed to get off at St Maarten. Another day lost. Nice. That night 9:30 pm we were in our room and got a knock on the door, two officers of the ship asking to turn over our keys and we were to be confined to our room again, saying that anyone who reported getting sick will not be able to go off the ship at Tortola. Another day, forgot to mention had to call housekeeping manager at 5 am, there was a terrible ordor coming from our bathroom, MOLD. I know what that’s smells like. The ventilation was not working along with the shower drains. Only took 3 days for the smell to clear. This whole experience was just awful. My worst vacation ever. My husband is trying to get through the corporation office with no success, maybe today. Must be a lot of guest trying to get through.

  • Larry

    My wife and I are also on the cruise from March 12th to the 22nd I develop symptoms on Wednesday night vomiting and diarrhea Thursday morning I went to the ship’s doctor they put me on an IV drip for dehydration and an IV antibiotics I was told I had to stay in my room originally for 4 days then it was 2 days they said my wife didn’t have to stay in a room because I was sick but then they said she did have to stay in the room cause I was sick Chaos on the ship the service desk said one thing the doctor said another thing pertaining to the days of isolation it was going back and forth didn’t know what was to do. on Thursdays March 18th 3 security guys came to our door and the demanded at our keys. This is when we knew for sure that my wife had to stay in the room with me, even though she wasn’t sick. On Saturday March 19th my wife got severely sick. The ship’s doctor had to come to the room at 10 a.m. because she couldn’t leave the room. When he came he gave her a shot for nausea. She did not have any relief. At around 6 or 7 p.m. she had very severe pains, it was so bad that The RoomStore heard her crying and heaving but they called security t had to get a wheelchair and and took her down to the medical center where she received a where she also received an IV for dehydration and another stronger shot for nausea. She was there for 4 hours before she got any relief. Needless to say, I had to stay in a room too because she was sick now. We were in the room for a total of 5 days we missed 4 out of the 5 ports. Room service was terrible they didn’t clean our room for 5 days we were on a limited diet. When we weren’t sick they put us on at Limited room service diet. We weren’t allowed out of the room technically 2 The Last Day after lunch. When we got out of the room we went to the service desk and ask for compensation for all the time we missed on the cruise they said we had to call corporate. When we got home we called corporate and they said they will not do anything because of sickness it wasn’t their fault. As you can see this is been happening weeks before so this is their fault. Yeah This is not right they have a duty to keep the passenger, safe let’s stick together and see if we could get this resolved, my email address is lgrim55@yahoo.com

  • Larry

    My wife and I are also on the cruise from March 12th to the 22nd I develop symptoms on Wednesday night vomiting and diarrhea Thursday morning I went to the ship’s doctor they put me on an IV drip for dehydration and an IV antibiotics I was told I had to stay in my room originally for 4 days then it was 2 days they said my wife didn’t have to stay in a room because I was sick but then they said she did have to stay in the room cause I was sick Chaos on the ship the service desk said one thing the doctor said another thing pertaining to the days of isolation it was going back and forth didn’t know what was to do. on Thursdays March 18th 3 security guys came to our door and the demanded at our keys. This is when we knew for sure that my wife had to stay in the room with me, even though she wasn’t sick. On Saturday March 19th my wife got severely sick. The ship’s doctor had to come to the room at 10 a.m. because she couldn’t leave the room. When he came he gave her a shot for nausea. She did not have any relief. At around 6 or 7 p.m. she had very severe pains, it was so bad that The RoomStore heard her crying and heaving but they called security t had to get a wheelchair and and took her down to the medical center where she received a where she also received an IV for dehydration and another stronger shot for nausea. She was there for 4 hours before she got any relief. Needless to say, I had to stay in a room too because she was sick now. We were in the room for a total of 5 days we missed 4 out of the 5 ports. Room service was terrible they didn’t clean our room for 5 days we were on a limited diet. When we weren’t sick they put us on at Limited room service diet. We weren’t allowed out of the room technically 2 The Last Day after lunch. When we got out of the room we went to the service desk and ask for compensation for all the time we missed on the cruise they said we had to call corporate. When we got home we called corporate and they said they will not do anything because of sickness it wasn’t their fault. As you can see this is been happening weeks before so this is their fault. Yeah This is not right they have a duty to keep the passenger, safe let’s stick together and see if we could get this resolved, my email address is lgrim55@yahoo.com

  • Carol

    This was the Worst, Most disappointing Cruise we have ever been on. ( NCL Gem March 12-22 ) VIRUS !!!
    I know there are circumstances (at times) that are beyond your control. BUT!! I do not appreciate infected passengers roaming around the ship. This was Negligence, Non-professional and Inconvenience for the many Not infected.
    NCL should have made it Totally Clear, and took all precautions that these infected passengers MUST NOT leave their Cabin. Quarantined !! ( We Heard Captain make announcement asking these Infected passengers to please return to their Cabins ) I became upset and Paranoid.
    It’s NCL Responsibility for the Safety of ALL there passengers. We were Not allowed to Dock in St. Maarten. We booked this trip primarily for St. Maarten this was special to Both of Us it was our Birthdays. During our trip certain places on ship became chaotic (ex. Garden Cafe).
    After this Ordeal we just wanted to go home. We Worked hard to be able to afford a Cruise on NCL. Would appreciate anything more resonable in a monetary way than $9.76 credit for this Ordeal, inconvenience and disappointment. This is Appalling !! Wrote to NCL customer service, no reply yet !!

  • Nancy Corrigan, Esq. PASSENGER GEM

    CRITICAL POST – From a Lawyer aboard Gem who has actionable claim from illness, we are entitled to much more than alleged, contact info at bottom of post and here … call or email
    CORRIGAN LAW OFFICE, Nancy Corrigan, Esq. 914-471-0500
    nancycorriganesq@outlook.com

    It would be difficult to summarize this for a post, but for the sake of brevity I will do my best:

    – I along with my family of three was aboard this ship NCL Gem 3/12-3/22 and was downgraded to inside cabin for four with a fourth cot – we were packed in a tiny cabin like rats LOL
    – I became violently sick commencing 3/14 (BEFORE THE PR STOP) which is relevant b/c there is en exclusion provision in the cruise contract if an island port “causes” the outbreak

    – BUT, there were other sick passengers while I was there prior to PR, so they rest their laurels on utter nonsense
    -I have been on more than 7 cruises with NCL and actually spent $15k on my ship wedding in March 2010, then cruised again on the Gem two years later
    -They billed my card close to $2500.00 notwithstanding the Captain soon thereafter offering free med care ($360 per hour for “nursing” care multiplied by 24 hours)

    – I finally called the Dr at 7:45 pm on 2/16) and was brought to med service suite where I had an IV and stopped vommitting but felt weak and unwell, for essentially the entire cruise
    -I am 48 years old and survived breast cancer, having my last reconstructive surgery on December 14, 2015 and am cancer free, but saw my dr before trip and my cancer history was irrelevant other than perhaps I may have been more likely to get sick earlier – MAYBE
    – This trip was supposed to celebrate my survival, but apparently a new CEO took over and everything was different and downgraded … from the food service, to charging for room service etc., other posts demonstrate this
    – aboard the ship, I contacted the powers that be and they refused to credit my card for med services, they blocked it for usage and refused to allow me a call to NCL customer service bc my phone was blocked in my cabin
    -I tipped the crew in cash once I realized my card was severly overdrawn and bouncing all kinds of checks at home and they refused to credit my card the tipping ($13.50 times 40 bc we were a party of four)
    – The cruise was horrible, traumatizing, and I am stuck with the recourse of customer service or court
    -WE MUST STAND TOGETHER ON THIS ISSUE AND I CAN SPEAK WITH CONVICTION, having cruised before on multiple times aboard NCL, THAT THIS WAS THE WORST CRUISE EVER AND UNACCEPTABLE AND THEY ARE, NO QUESTION AT FAULT!!!!
    PLease contact me at my law office at 914-471-0500
    Nancy Corrigan
    71 Richardsville Road, Carmel NY 10512

    I am filing a Notice of Claim immeditely

  • Iris Ortiz

    I have tried several times to reach Guest Relations and emailing them. Nothing seems to put me in contact with a live person. If anyone knows of a good number to complain please let me know. Thank you.

  • Carol

    My agency gave me this info. Below … I Wrote 3 letters … SO FAR I HEARD NOTHING .. !!!!!
    Wow!! I am a platinum … So disappointed in NCL ..
    If you have any info . Please let me know ..

    To share any questions or concerns with our guest relations team after your cruise, please click below. Standard Response time is 15 business days from receipt.

    Email Guest Relations
    Phone1.866.625.1164
    Mailing AddressNorwegian Cruise Line Guest Relations, 7665 Corporate Center Drive Miami, Florida 33126
    Hours of Operation

  • Lisa

    Finally got a response from NCL ( see letter below) Very disappointed . Time to move up to different cruise line in the future .

    we were aware that there were some cases of gastro-intestinal illnesses onboard Norwegian Gem during your cruise voyage. However, we want to assure you that once we were aware of the problem our staff took measures to arrest its spread- this includes, but was not limited to following the guidelines set by the Center for Disease Control, implementing silver service, and fully sanitizing the ship. We also sent out flyers to each guest advising them of the situation, and what safety measures they could take to avoid becoming ill. The health and well-being of our guests is one of our top priorities.

    While we do understand that this unfortunate circumstance resulted in the ship not being allowed to dock in St. Marten. We apologize for any disappointment this may have caused. The taxes for the missed port were refunded back to your onboard account. We are unable to honor your request for compensation for the missed port.

    Thank you for the opportunity to address your concerns. We certainly hope that you found other aspect of your cruise vacation enjoyable and will consider Norwegian Cruise Line for your future travel plans. It would be our pleasure to welcome you back onboard in the near future.

  • Rosemary McClelland

    got gastroentertis on Norwegian Gem 21/02/2016 thought i could shake it off had to go to doctor on third day confined to cabin complained when i got home said they would reply still have not heard anything spoilt holiday for everybody in the party(4) also the cleaning standard of the cabin was terrible dust thick on dressing table mirrors not clean had to get cleaner back into room (would not be suprised if whoever was in the cabin last had that illness) will not be on any of ncl ships again

  • Larry DeBlasio

    My friend and I got very sick on the Moody blues cruise and when I returned back to work,I past out in a company vehicle at the walt Disney world do to dehydration and got terminate.My leader’s didn’t believe me .I had almost 17 years there and have been out of work for almost 4 months now I have a blind wife and o 12 year daughter